Make your own free website on

Brief Introduction of Surigao del Norte


bu_pen2.gif HISTORY - The people are migrants from the Visayas, notably Cebu, but indigenous tribes of the Mamanwa and Manobo strains reside here. Surigao del Norte is also a land wherehistory left indelible imprints. The province, formerly labelled "Caraga" by the Spaniards who made their encampments here, was proclaimed a military district in 1860. Centuries-old buildings and churches stand mute witnesses to the glory days of Spain on its shores. One of the larger islands, Dinagat, was the landing point of the American liberation forces. The whole of Surigao was later divided into two separate in June 19, 1960 by virtue of Repulic Act 2786.

bu_pen2.gif TOPOGRAPHY - It lies northeast of Mindanao, bounded on the north by Leyte Gulf, on the east by the Pacific Ocean, on the west by the Surigao Strait, and on the south by Surigao del sur and Agusan del Norte. It is a land of sharp contrasts, consisting of a mainland portion and island clusters numbering about a hundred. The mainland has a high unbroken precipice and rough and tumble mountains to the west, and great calm lakes to the east. It lies on the tip of the Philippines Fault, leading scientists to believe that great plate movements led to its present-day formation

bu_pen2.gif ATTRACTION - The province has many attractions, with kilometer-long black beaches, and similarly long white pebble-washed. Its mountainous area rich with forest cover and afford a breathtaking view of the mines. It has a Venice-like floating village with canals for boats, deep seas for fishing, and shores covered with rare seashells.

bu_pen2.gif ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICT - Its municipalities are Rizal, Loreto, Tubajon, San Jose, Libjo, Dinagat, Cagdianao, San Francisco, Taganaan, Sison, Placer, Bacuag, Gigaquit, Claver, Tubod, Mainit, Malimono, Socorro, Dapa, General Luna, Pilar, Del Carmen, San Isidro, San Benito, Sta. Monica, and Alegria, with one chartered city, Surigao.

[ Home ]